Always Sunny In June

Fashion, Nails, DIY, Cupcakes, & Smiles

The DR!

on July 15, 2013

I hope everyone is enjoying their summer! If you were wondering why I was lacking to post last week, which you probably weren’t, I was in the Dominican Republic.

My beautiful picture

I went on a service trip so it wasn’t a full on vacation but it still was so amazing. I cleaned up a lot of trash and helped build an aqueduct and planted mangroves. I also talked to natives who were trying to learn English. It felt really good to know that I made a difference even if it was only small in the grand scheme of things. While I was there everyone was so welcoming and friendly. It just shows how different our cultures are. Any day on the street if you wave to someone 9 times out of 10 they’ll wave back with a big smile on their face. Just think if you did that in NYC, people would think that your crazy. These people have so little but they make the most of it and I think that’s really admirable.

Aside from the service I went to some beaches and caves. One  of the beaches was really secluded because to get to it, you have to either hike or horseback ride. I also went to a waterfall.

It was really cool because the water was really shallow around the waterfall and you could swim right below it.

Going on service trips as apposed to vacations is so much more rewarding. Once you step out of the resort you can get a whole new perspective of the country. It’s easier to absorb the culture if you stay outside a resort. Overall this trip will be an experience that I’ll never forget.

-Love, June

2 responses to “The DR!

  1. aiyanajane says:

    that sounds amazing, good for you! i visited punta cana (all inclusive i must admit) but i went on a trail ride with the locals and it was amazing. i would love to do such a thing, where did you sign up?

Leave a Reply

